Teaching Sustainability

These professors work at the confluence of ecology and enterprise. Their research changes the way we interact with the world. Living and working sustainably is possible.

These are just some of the people leading the way:

Poojitha Yapa, professor of civil & environmental engineering, organized the oil spill modeling session at the 36th International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research World Congress. The session at The Hague, Netherlands, was a forum for scientists to determine the current state of oil spill modeling, industry and government needs — as well as areas that need to be improved. Researchers from academia, scientific institutes, government and industry around the world exchanged ideas and set future directions.

Ruth Baltus, professor of chemical & biomolecular engineering and ISE affiliate, is co-chairing the 25th annual meeting of the North American Membrane Society (NAMS). This event is considered the premier meeting in membrane science and technology, drawing hundreds of attendees from industry, academia and government labs around the world. The meeting will feature presentations about the increasing use of membranes in a broad range of applications, including the removal of carbon dioxide from fossil-fuel-fired power plants’ flue gas streams and from natural gas streams.

 Professor Tom Holsen working in the wind tunnellSusan Powers, the Jean ’79 and Robert ’79 Spence Professor in Sustainable Environmental Systems and ISE associate director for sustainability, was chosen by students to receive the Residence Hall Association Faculty Award. This award honors a faculty member who exemplifies service, going above and beyond the call of duty to add to the prosperity and environmental health of the campus community.

Alan Rossner, associate professor and ISE director of undergraduate programs in environmental health science and environmental science and policy, was awarded the Distinguished Teaching Award. Nominated by Clarkson alumni and selected by faculty, winners receive $1,500 “in recognition of the importance of superior teaching.”

Lei Wu, associate professor of electrical & computer engineering and ISE affiliate, granted $400,000 in research funding by the National Science Foundation. He also received the John W. Graham Jr. Faculty Research Award. Presented to “faculty members who have shown promise in engineering, business, liberal arts or scientific research,” it includes a $1,500 research award that Wu can use to further his work in the stochastic modeling and optimization of large-scale power systems.

Michelle Crimi, associate professor in the Institute for a Sustainable Environment, was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship to work with the civil and environmental engineering department at the University of KwaZulu-Natal. Her award made possible a combined teaching/research experience where she developed a new collaborative course, “Sustainable Industrial Waste Management: Global Challenges and Opportunities,” to be taught simultaneously at Clarkson and UKZN.

In addition to this work, Crimi taught courses and contributed to curriculum development in environmental science and engineering at UKZN. She also conducted and planned collaborative research focused on groundwater remediation and water treatment.

Devon A. Shipp, professor of chemistry & biomolecular science, was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship to work with leading researchers at the University of Ljubljana and the Slovenian National Institute of Chemistry, studying new hybrid-biodegradable polymer materials that have great potential for medical use, particularly pharmaceutical delivery and wound healing. Shipp’s research in polymer chemistry has earned more than $2 million in research funding from industry, government and nonprofit agencies.

More faculty mentors and role models

Return to the Institute for a Sustainable Environment Viewbook >>